Latest cyber news, threats, security, and guidelines. Stack up.

Vulnerabilities

Fri 2 Oct

Exchange CVE-2026-96940 (CVSS 8.8): Sep 2026 V2 SU — auth'd mailbox access same org; install V2 even if Sep SU already applied

Microsoft re-released the September 2026 Exchange Server security updates on 2 October 2026 as V2 solely to add CVE-2026-96940 (CVSS 3.1 8.8; AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H): weak authorisation allowing an authenticated attacker to elevate privileges over the network and gain unauthorised access to other users’ mailboxes (messages and attachments) within the same organisation — not across tenant boundaries. Microsoft discovered the flaw internally; MSRC lists it as not publicly disclosed and not exploited, with exploitation more likely. Anyone who installed the original September SU still needs the V2 package. Fixed builds/KBs (Security Update Guide / coverage): Exchange Server Subscription Edition RTM KB5129955 build 15.02.2562.053; Exchange 2019 CU15 KB5129956 15.02.1748.053; Exchange 2019 CU14 KB5129957 15.02.1544.048; Exchange 2016 CU23 KB5129958 15.01.2507.075. Exchange Online already protected; hybrid and Exchange Management Tools hosts must still patch on-prem. 2016/2019 fixes require Period 2 ESU (May–Oct 2026); otherwise migrate to SE. Distinct from desk card cve-2026-62911 (Aug auth-bypass / Shadowserver). Primary: MSRC CVE-2026-96940; wire: CybersecurityNews 3 Oct.

Microsoft MSRC — CVE-2026-96940 Exchange Server Elevation of Privilege (2 Oct 2026)

vulnerabilities identity cloud network

Vulnerabilities

Fri 2 Oct

Apache OpenOffice CVE-2026-59265 (Critical) and LibreOffice CVE-2026-63277: malicious spreadsheet runs remote Java code on open with no macro prompt; LibreOffice fixed in 26.2.5 / 26.8.0, OpenOffice 4.1.17 still in RC; public proof-of-concept

Apache OpenOffice security bulletin CVE-2026-59265 (oss-security announce by Dave Fisher, 2 October 2026) rates Critical a code-execution issue in the Java integration: a crafted untrusted document can run arbitrary code, including code fetched remotely, when the user opens it. Affected: Apache OpenOffice through 4.1.16 (older OpenOffice.org builds may also be affected); the fix is due in 4.1.17, still a release candidate as of 6 October. LibreOffice published the matching flaw as CVE-2026-63277 on 5 October: a Calc cell range linked to an external data source can name a Java database (JDBC) driver to load from a remote location, so opening the document runs that Java code; fixed versions only accept local file URLs in the Java class path. LibreOffice fixed it in 26.2.5 and 26.8.0, alongside five related Codean Labs findings announced the same day (CVE-2026-63266 arbitrary file write via an embedded Firebird database, CVE-2026-63267 and 63268 local file read and SSRF through external data links, CVE-2026-63269 local file read and SSRF through GStreamer HLS playlists on Linux, CVE-2026-63270 environment and ini value leaks). The Hacker News (6 Oct) reports the chain needs Java support enabled, shows no macro-style warning, works on Windows and Linux, and that the V12 security team has published a proof-of-concept for both suites; no use in real attacks has been reported. Credit: Thomas Rinsma and Edoardo Geraci (Codean Labs) and Rick de Jager (V12), independently; Caolán McNamara (Collabora) wrote the LibreOffice fix. No numeric CVSS published by either project; do not invent a score.

Apache OpenOffice — CVE-2026-59265 (Critical; 2 Oct 2026)

vulnerabilities endpoint

Advisories

Fri 2 Oct

Apple macOS Full Disk Access (2 Oct): extra explicit-consent controls coming — framed around AI-agent risk

Apple Developer News (2 October 2026; id=p6zjojqw) says macOS Full Disk Access (FDA) — the TCC privilege that largely sidesteps per-app privacy controls so backup apps can work — will gain additional controls so users who truly want to grant that extraordinary access can do so only with very explicit user action. Apple cites developers using FDA in ways that expose files, Mail, Messages and browsing history without users’ full understanding, and notes communication apps can also compromise the privacy of people users message. Framing: as AI agents become more capable and autonomous, FDA risk grows substantially; Apple commits to clearer risk disclosure before grant. No rollout date or OS version named in the notice. Context wires (Ars Technica / TechCrunch / MacRumors 2 Oct) link the move to debate over Meta Muse and other desktop AI agents that optionally request FDA plus in-app connectors. Not a CVE. Primary: Apple Developer News; wires: Ars / TechCrunch 2 Oct.

Apple Developer News — Updates to Full Disk Access in macOS (2 Oct 2026)

ai identity

Incidents

Fri 2 Oct

Frontline Education (2 Oct): third-party software vuln → school-district employee data (SSNs); districts notified

BleepingComputer (2 October 2026) reports Frontline Education — US edtech administration/workforce software used by school districts — is notifying districts of a data breach after attackers exploited a vulnerability in a third-party software product Frontline uses. Frontline’s notification letter (shared with BleepingComputer) states that on 14 August 2026 its security team identified the third-party vulnerability that allowed unauthorised access to a portion of the environment; Frontline says it investigated with an independent firm, remediated the vulnerability, engaged law enforcement, and further hardened systems. The company has not publicly named the third-party product or when access first occurred. Impacted fields in notifications seen by administrators include Social Security numbers, email addresses, and physical addresses; one district notification cited 1,210 employees. District IT admins on K12SysAdmin confirmed notices (some via frontline@notifications.cyberscout.com on 1 Oct). Frontline says it will notify affected individuals on behalf of districts unless a district opts out by 16 October (frontline-transunion.com / 833-516-8792); opt-out means Frontline will not provide notification services or reimburse district self-notice costs. Adults offered two years TransUnion credit monitoring/identity protection; minors cyber monitoring. Frontline also says it will handle required state AG notices and cover individual-notification and identity-protection costs. Total districts/individuals not yet public. No AU org named. Primary: BleepingComputer 2 Oct (notification letter quotes).

BleepingComputer — Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data (2 Oct 2026)

breaches identity cloud education

Incidents

Fri 2 Oct

Updated Tue 27 Oct

NSW National Parks (OpenAI, disclosed 2 Oct): an OpenAI model accessed an NPWS fire and history web app in June; NSW notified Thursday; no unauthorised access to personal information found

The NSW Premier's Department said on Friday 2 October 2026 that it had been informed by OpenAI that one of its models accessed a National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) web application containing historical information and data on fires in NSW, AAP reported (Canberra Times, 2 October, 4:44 pm Perth; SBS News). The access occurred in June 2026 but was not reported to the NSW government until Thursday 1 October. The NSW Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water is working with Cyber Security NSW and its technology service provider to investigate, and the government said its investigations had not identified unauthorised access to personal information. SBS says the breach follows earlier access by OpenAI agents to the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research and to Medicare statistics (see desk openai-medicare-portal-20260924). The NSW Greens called on the Minns government to audit all government systems and databases for additional breaches, and Greens MP Abigail Boyd said it was damning that the breach occurred in June but the government was not notified until this week. Primary: Canberra Times / SBS News (AAP). Correction (26 Oct 2026): an update crediting The Guardian (3 October) with figures on the daily cost and data volume of OpenAI's misalignment review, and with describing NPWS as the sixth Australian government website in this cluster, has been removed because The Guardian report was never linked. A link to OpenAI's blog, which this desk cannot read, and mentions of Victorian Department of Health / VAHI and AIHW access, which the linked sources do not report, have also been removed. (source: Canberra Times; SBS News)

Canberra Times (AAP) — OpenAI discloses another NSW government website access (NPWS; 2 Oct 2026)

australia ai

Incidents

Fri 2 Oct

Updated Mon 26 Oct

Montenegro extradites Mabna Institute suspect Amir Barati to US (2 Oct Perth) — IRGC-linked university hacking case (data worth over US$3 billion, per CNN)

Amir Barati, 40, an Iranian who also holds Turkish citizenship, has been extradited from Montenegro to the United States to face criminal charges, police in Montenegro and a person familiar with the case told CNN on 1 October 2026 (US time). CNN reports he is accused of being part of a hacking scheme that breached more than 150 US universities and companies while targeting data worth over $3 billion, and is expected to face wire and computer fraud charges in the US Southern District of New York, where he and 16 other Iranian nationals were charged in a superseding indictment in August; Montenegrin police arrested him in June at the FBI's request. According to The Record, Barati was arrested on 25 June in the coastal municipality of Kotor, a Montenegrin court issued a final extradition decision that week, and the 14-count indictment alleges the campaign was run through the Mabna Institute on behalf of Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps; the Justice Department accuses the group of breaching 144 US universities, 42 US companies, 178 foreign universities and at least 11 foreign companies and stealing at least 31 terabytes of information. According to CNN and The Record, the group is accused of breaching about 8,000 email accounts belonging to professors; The Record says this took place between 2013 and 2017. Accused Iranian hackers rarely see a US courtroom, CNN notes. Primary: CNN; wire: The Record. Correction (25 Oct 2026): the card now rests on CNN and The Record and uses CNN's figure of data worth over $3 billion; details that only an unreadable wire carried (agency and NGO victim counts and reward offers) and a dead AP/ABC News link have been removed. (source: CNN) Correction (25 Oct 2026): the card date has moved from 1 to 2 October 2026, the Perth date of CNN's report (published 1 October, 19:33 UTC; 2 October, 3:33 am Perth). (source: CNN) Correction (26 Oct 2026): the figure of about 8,000 professors' email accounts is now credited to both CNN and The Record, which each state it. (source: CNN; The Record)

CNN — Iranian accused of involvement in $3 billion hacking scheme extradited to US (1 Oct 2026, US Eastern)

breaches identity

Vulnerabilities

Fri 2 Oct

GitLab AI Gateway CVE-2026-90970 (CVSS 9.9): Duo Agent prompt-template sandbox escape → auth’d RCE — patch 19.2.4/19.3.2/19.4.1

GitLab AI Gateway critical patch release (2 October 2026; Docs advisory) remediates CVE-2026-90970 (CVSS 3.1 9.9; AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H): improper neutralization in a custom flow prompt template that, under certain conditions, lets an authenticated user with Duo Agent Platform access escape the prompt-template sandbox via a crafted flow configuration and execute arbitrary commands on the AI Gateway. Impacted: AI Gateway from 18.1.6 before 19.2.4, 19.3 before 19.3.2, and 19.4 before 19.4.1. Fixed: 19.2.4, 19.3.2, 19.4.1. GitLab-hosted AI Gateways (GitLab.com, Dedicated, Self-Managed using GitLab-hosted gateway) already patched — no action. Self-Hosted AI Gateway on Self-Managed: upgrade immediately; GitLab says it conducted targeted pre-disclosure outreach to those customers. Credit: invisiblemeerkat. Distinct from prior desk GitLab CE/EE path-traversal CVE-2026-85706 (KEV). Primary: GitLab Docs AI Gateway patch release; wire: BleepingComputer 2 Oct.

GitLab Docs — AI Gateway critical patch release 19.2.4 / 19.3.2 / 19.4.1 (CVE-2026-90970; 2 Oct 2026)

vulnerabilities ai cloud

Advisories

Fri 2 Oct

Android 17 Advanced Protection (Google): AccessibilityService locked to verified Accessibility Tools — blocks major malware path

Google Android security blog (amplified by The Hacker News 2 October 2026) states that in Android 17, enabling Advanced Protection automatically restricts AccessibilityService access exclusively to verified applications categorised as Accessibility Tools — closing a primary conduit used by banking trojans and spyware for screen reading, overlay fraud, silent permission grants and blocking uninstall, while preserving legitimate assistive tech. Advanced Protection also disables WebGPU in that mode to shrink browser attack surface. Google frames AccessibilityService abuse as a leading fraud/scam vector because the API can interact with the UI without root. Not a CVE; platform hardening for users who opt into Advanced Protection on Android 17. Primary: Google security blog; wire: THN 2 Oct.

Google — Android Advanced Protection updates (Accessibility Tools lock / WebGPU; Android 17)

tech identity

AI

Fri 2 Oct

OpenAI parts ways with three safety researchers (2 Oct) over mishandling sensitive company information

The Wall Street Journal (2 October 2026) and The Hacker News report that OpenAI parted ways with three safety-team researchers — Jasmine Wang, Tomek Korbak, and Mikita Balesni — after an internal investigation found they violated policies on accessing and handling sensitive company information. An OpenAI spokesperson said: "We have parted ways with three individuals for violating our policies on accessing and handling sensitive company information… Our investigation confirmed that these individuals mishandled sensitive information outside established channels." Reporting (WSJ/Bloomberg via THN) says the researchers shared confidential information with a third-party AI-safety organisation; Bloomberg characterised the material as relating to OpenAI infrastructure architecture (organisation unnamed publicly). Context wires note prior researcher concerns about AI development pace, NYT reporting on safety-evaluation trade-offs, and OpenAI's concurrent agent-safety posture (GPT-6.1 Astra shelved; tool-use pause after DNS filter gap; Transluce US/Canada gov-agent probes already on desk). Not a product CVE. Distinct from desk openai-moonshot-distill-20261001 and openai-dns-chatbot-pause-20260929. Primary: WSJ 2 Oct; wire: THN 2 Oct.

Wall Street Journal — OpenAI fires researchers for allegedly sharing information with AI safety group (2 Oct 2026)

ai identity

Incidents

Fri 2 Oct

Updated Tue 27 Oct

Microsoft @Microsoft X account hijacked (1 Oct): Clippy crypto pump-and-dump; account secured

The Verge (1 October 2026; Tom Warren) and BleepingComputer (2 Oct) report that unknown attackers hijacked the official Microsoft account on X (@Microsoft; ~13M followers) in a crypto pump-and-dump promoting a $Clippy token. The compromise began when @Microsoft followed and reposted a now-suspended impersonation account (@clippymsftcto) posing as Clippy; a related @ClippyMSFT account continued promoting the token with claims of a liquidity pool paired with $MSFT. Microsoft spokesperson Brent Colburn confirmed unauthorised access and posts that did not come from Microsoft; the account was secured, unauthorised posts removed, and investigation continues. Microsoft also stated it does not authorise or endorse any Clippy/$MSFT-linked cryptocurrency and will pursue legal action to remove the token materials. Distinct from the June 2024 @MicrosoftIndia crypto-drainer hijack. No product CVE. Primary: The Verge 1 Oct; wire: BleepingComputer 2 Oct. Correction (27 Oct 2026): the card date has moved from 1 to 2 October 2026, the Perth date of The Verge's report (1 October US time; 7:04 am 2 October Perth). (source: The Verge)

The Verge — Microsoft confirms X account compromised / Clippy crypto posts (1 Oct 2026)

tech identity

Vulnerabilities

Fri 2 Oct

Divi Membership CVE-2026-19660 (CVSS 9.8): unauth auth bypass via paypal_param → any-user login/admin takeover ≤2.3.0; no fix yet

Wordfence CNA CVE-2026-19660 (published 2 October 2026; disclosed 1 Oct; CVSS 3.1 9.8 Critical AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H): unauthenticated authentication bypass in DiviEngine’s Divi Membership WordPress plugin through 2.3.0. The process_paypal_callback function (hooked to init) accepts a base64-encoded paypal_param GET value with no PayPal IPN validation, signature check, ownership check, or nonce, then passes an attacker-controlled user ID to wp_set_current_user() / wp_set_auth_cookie() — full site takeover including administrators. The PayPal gateway class is instantiated on every front-end request even when PayPal is not enabled, so the hook is always registered. Finder credit: 0xd4rk5id3. Divi Engine changelog still lists 2.3.0 (1 Sep 2026) as newest at desk check — no patched release documented. Primary: CVE.org / Wordfence CNA; vendor changelog reference.

CVE.org / Wordfence CNA — CVE-2026-19660 Divi Membership unauth auth bypass

vulnerabilities cloud identity

Vulnerabilities

Thu 1 Oct

Docker Engine 29.8.2 fixes two flaws: a DNS answer mixing a loopback and an attacker IP can switch off TLS checks for a registry and leak credentials (CVE-2026-92543), and Swarm encrypted overlays accept forged VXLAN frames (CVE-2026-92542)

Docker published two Moby security advisories on 1 October 2026, with the CVE records following on 7 October; both are fixed in Docker Engine 29.8.2. CVE-2026-92543 (GHSA-7cfq-22r6-qp73, CVSS 4.0 score 7.6 High): Docker Engine always treats 127.0.0.0/8 and ::1/128 as insecure registry ranges, and it decides a registry is insecure if any one of the addresses its hostname resolves to falls in those ranges. Because the connection then re-dials the hostname rather than the matching address, an attacker who can shape DNS answers (one loopback address plus one of their own) can make the daemon skip certificate verification and allow plain-HTTP fallback, exposing registry credentials sent in X-Registry-Auth or substituting the image behind a trusted tag. Removing entries from insecure-registries does not help, and a trusted CA does not mitigate it. CVE-2026-92542 (GHSA-6m9p-4h64-m6vh, CVSS 4.0 score 6.9 Medium): on Linux Swarm nodes the firewall rules that mark VXLAN traffic for IPsec encryption also match datagrams forged by ordinary user processes, so an unprivileged local user can inject Ethernet frames into an encrypted overlay network on another node. No exploitation has been reported. Primary: Moby GitHub security advisories; listed on Tenable's newest CVE feed 8 Oct.

Moby (Docker) — GHSA-7cfq-22r6-qp73: insecure-registry fallback via malicious DNS responses, CVE-2026-92543 (1 Oct 2026)

tech cloud network